Foundations: Scanning Dreams

You may have seen the post Double Exposure last week regarding the scanography from my 6th grade art class. They used all of the skills they learned during the pre-projects in order to complete their final piece. This project was called, “Scanning Dreams.” Below you will find their final projects complete with a brief summary of their dream, nightmare, hope, or fear! 

hand in the woods

A.S. grade 6

 

“My dream was about me trying to run from a hand that was chasing me. How I made my dream was by scanning my hand and taking a picture of myself, and I had to line my hand exactly where it would be if I were running from it and I put my picture of myself where it needed to be so it would look like I was running from the hand. I think my image turned out really nice. I learned a lot about the DAL and I learned a lot about the buttons in some of the things on the computer.”


 

edwards_sd

V.E. grade 6

“For scanning dreams my dream was a nightmare and I was bending over on a bench and bracing myself for the worst. I really liked scanning the snow and figuring out how to put a picture in my dream. I wasn’t a big fan of scanning my face but I liked scanning my hand and creating different scans. I think I would want to do this again because it was really fun and interesting.”


 

nelson_SD

C.N. grade 6

“My dream was a nightmare I used some red see through plastic, spider rings and some leaves. What I liked about scanning dreams is that you could choose anything to be a dream a nightmare or hopeful dream. The thing I liked best was making every thing together and creating stuff. I hope that we can do this again. And my nightmare was that I died from spiders biting me.”


 

sarah's dream progect

S.A. grade 6

“My scanning dreams was based on a dream. My dream occurred in winter, I was standing in a field full of snow catching snow in my hand and a pokeball was next to me on the ground. I had taken pictures of everything I used. I feel like if turned out pretty good. Despite not being exactly like I wanted it to be.”


 

shearing_SD

M.S. grade 6

“I really like the scanning dreams project, because we got to walk around and take pictures and then come back into the DAL and edit them. My dream was about me playing hide and seek in a field or a maze then I was peeking out from behind the tree. I think the process was super fun because you could go out and collect objects or take pictures, and the edit process was cool to. I loved how my final picture turned out and I loved how I learned how to make layers and insert them all into one picture. I had a lot of fun doing this project and I would do it again.”


 

Vella_SD

M.V. grade 6

“In my dream I was in a wide open area and there were many people around. All of the people had wings and could fly, I could too but I wasn’t able to reach the world that they were in. I was trapped in an enclosed circle of leaves, brambles, and ivy. I enjoyed making this very much because you get to experiment with the different settings on Adobe Photoshop and there is really no way to mess it up completely. My picture was one picture of me and Victoria, but the layer behind the picture was the leaves and brambles that I was stuck in. So I cut out half of the photo so long I was left on that side.”


 

wilson_SD

M.W. grade 6

“Scanning  dreams was about finding a picture and you put the picture in Adobe ideas. Scanning dreams was fun because of all the picture I took and putting them all together. Another reason i like scanning dreams is because it teaches us how to overlay pictures and customize it. My favorite part is when we scand it. Scanning dream is about learning how to scan and overlap pictures.”


 

crego_sd

Z.C. grade 6

“My dream is about an evil banana coming up from the ground and it starts chasing me. I made my scan by drawing a face on a banana and placing it on the scanner. I cut out arms and legs for the banana and I also scaned my face screaming. I think it turned out very good but I think I could have done better in some places. What I learned from this project was how to make scans and over lap them. I had a very fun time doing this and I would like to do this again.”


 

castellano_sd

G.C. grade 6

“I loved doing the dream project. My dream was a nightmare. How we made the picture is we used a scanner and we got to put anything we wanted on it. I did a picture of a clock,spiders and my face. The finished outcome came really good. I would want to do another project like this again sometime.”


wheeler_sd

J.W. grade 6

“I loved doing the dream project. My dream was a nightmare. How we made the picture is we used a scanner and we got to put anything we wanted on it. I did a picture of a clock,spiders and my face. The finished outcome came really good. I would want to do another project like this again sometime.”

Leave a comment