MAG: Matisse as Printmaker

I went to a professional development session on Wednesday, April 9th at the Memorial Art Gallery. The topic was Matisse as Printmaker and featured the new show as well as a figure drawing session. I was thrilled to see some of Matisse’s original printmaking work.

The highlight of this experience for me was the ability to sit and draw a live model. It’s been years since I had the opportunity to draw a figure. I think the last time I drew a live model was a Dr. Sketchy’s gathering in Philadelphia. Here are some of my 10-15 minute sketches of the model.

Drawing is like making an expressive gesture with the advantage of permanence.

-Henri Matisse

Leave a Reply

