Artist of the Week: Visualize Math

For the first time I am highlighting video artists for the “Artist of the Week” series. I immediately fell in love with the simplicity and wide-angle triptych composition. Due to it’s complex nature I have had trouble understanding math and science at times*. The artists, Yann Pineill and Nicolas Lefaucheux, showed the equation, simplified visual, and video. After watching these videos I have a better understanding of these concepts and an even stronger appreciation for the art of video and animation.

BEAUTY OF MATHEMATICS from PARACHUTES.TV on Vimeo.
By Yann Pineill & Nicolas Lefaucheux

“Mathematics, rightly viewed, possesses not only truth, but supreme beauty — a beauty cold and austere, without the gorgeous trappings of painting or music.”

Bertrand Russell

I will be sharing this video with my Digital Design class tomorrow. I can never show them too many references of good typography.

Check out their website for more amazing video and animation work http://parachutes.tv

*I refuse to say that I am, “bad at math,” because I strongly believe that with practice just about anyone can gain the skills and techniques necessary to achieve a goal.

Leave a Reply

