cookwitholiveri: Zucchini Bread

I am a long time reader of the foodie blog, Smitten Kitchen. This weekend while I was looking for something to do with the drawer full of CSA zucchini in my fridge I came across this recipe. The recipe is for Zucchini Bread (or muffins).  I recall making it on one other occasion with a recipe that my mother gave me. I was young, and dumb and decided I would grate the zucchini instead of using the perfectly good food processor in my kitchen. It did not go well.

I finally had the desire to make it zucchini bread again yesterday when I grated all of the zucchini in the food processor. One large zucchini yielded 4 cups of grated product. You only need 2 cups for the recipe so I froze the other 2 for next time.

2013-07-19 11.15.16

Chopped zucchini ready to be grated in the food processor

2013-07-19 11.16.22

4 cups of grated from one large zucchini

I finally started baking them tonight (Saturday) after the heat died down and we had a nice breeze rolling through the kitchen windows. We have been in the midst of a heat wave.

2013-07-20 20.20.26

Finished muffins with walnuts and chocolate chips

I hope to have a few of these left next weekend when we go camping. I’m not sure if they’re going to last. If they don’t I have 2 more cups of zucchini grated and frozen for the next batch.

2013-07-20 20.23.02

2013-07-20 20.23.07

I made a few changes to the recipe (as usual). Check out my modifications below.

Zucchini Bread 
Adapted from several sources

Yield: 2 loaves or approximately 24 muffins

3 eggs
1 cup olive or vegetable oil
1 3/4 cups sugar 1 cup brown sugar AND 3/4 cup white sugar
2 cups grated zucchini
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)
1 cup dried cranberries, raisins or chocolate chips or a combination thereof (optional)

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Line 24 muffin cups 18 muffin cups with paper liners AND 3 mini loaf pans.
  3. In a large bowl, beat the eggs with a whisk. Mix in oil and sugar, then zucchini and vanilla.
  4. Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder and salt, as well as nuts, chocolate chips and/or dried fruit, if using.
  5. Stir this into the egg mixture. Divide the batter into prepared pans.
  6. Bake loaves for 60 minutes, plus or minus ten, or until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Muffins will bake far more quickly, approximately 20 to 25 minutes.

From: Smitten Kitchen http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2007/07/summer-of-the-bats/

Leave a Reply

