cookwitholiveri: Scallion Pancakes

I order scallion pancakes every time that I visit Han Noodle but I have never made them. I was inspired by a post I saw on the https://www.facebook.com/TheGoodFoodCollective (GFC is the CSA that I pick up food from every week).

I started with this recipe from Epicurious (and this dipping sauce recipe) and modified it a bit based on what I had in my fridge.

Ingredients

  • 2 garlic cloves, diced
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 bunch scallions, cut into thin matchsticks
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cut into thin matchsticks
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil, divided

Dipping Sauce

Preparation

Chop all veggies (mis en place). Wisk the water, eggs, and sesame oil – then slowly add flour in batches until smooth. Stir in veggies. Heat 1 tbsp of oil over medium/high heat. Cook the pancakes in 4 batches. Press down lightly to flatten. Turn once, pancakes should be golden, and cook for 3-5 minutes total. Add more oil before starting the next batch.

3 responses to “cookwitholiveri: Scallion Pancakes

Leave a Reply

