cookingwitholiveri: Garlic Scape Pesto

If you like garlic – you will love garlic scape pesto. I mixed it up using this recipe from Epicurious.

For the pesto

  • 10 large garlic scapes
  • 1/3 cup unsalted pistachios
  • 1/3 cup finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Make the pesto: Puree the garlic scapes, pistachios, Parmesan (I used Romano), 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper in a food processor until very finely chopped. With the motor running, slowly pour the oil through the opening. Season the pesto with salt and pepper to taste. (The pesto keeps in the fridge, covered, for 1 week or frozen for a month.)

**See below for my changes starting here 
In a large pot of heavily salted boiling water, cook the spaghetti until al dente. Reserve 1 cup of the pasta-cooking water, then drain the pasta. Whisk together 2/3 cup of the pesto and the reserved pasta water and toss with the pasta. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve right away.

Read More http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Pasta-with-Garlic-Scape-Pesto-395769#ixzz2XNf2EvzN

**I crossed out the last bit because the pesto was so garlicky and tangy that I couldn’t even taste it. I adore garlic but this was STRONG. In order to sweeten the flavor I added 1/3 of a cup of pesto to a pan and  sautéed it at medium heat. At the same time I started boiling the pasta. I stole about 1/3 of a cup of pasta water to start things off. I stirred the pasta water into the pesto thoroughly and had to do this ~4 more times because the water cooks down quite a bit.

Sautéing the mix really helped to sweeten the flavor and bring out the texture of the pesto. I added some frozen peas to the mix. I cooked the pesto for about 11 minutes (as long as the pasta was boiling). To serve, fill a bowl with pasta, cover with a scoop of pea-filled pesto, a dollop of goat cheese, and a sprig of parsley. I had about 2/3 of a cup of uncooked pesto left. I froze it in two portions in ziploc bags.

Here is the video of the pesto making process from my Vine.

2 responses to “cookingwitholiveri: Garlic Scape Pesto

  1. Pingback: cookwitholiveri: Grilled Garlic Scapes | artwitholiveri·

  2. Pingback: cookwitholiveri: Kholrabi Fritters AND Garlic Scape Pesto | artwitholiveri·

Leave a Reply

