cookingwitholiveri: Chard Slaw

I never thought you could eat swiss chard raw. I have used it in greens and beans, added it to soups, and sautéed it as a side dish (here are some more excellent recipes for chard). I was curious about this recipe in the most recent issue of Martha Stewart Living. Two of the ingredients, chard and scallions, came in this weeks Good Food Collective CSA share. I was pleasantly surprised to use absolutely everything in last weeks share just in time to pick up a new share.

I prepped the chard, croutons, and the dressing this morning. I stored everything separately until dinner time so that the slaw didn’t wilt too much and the cantaloupe didn’t weep into the dressing.

Chard
Remove the ribs, roll several leaves together, thinly slice on the diagonal. Slice the ribs the long way (into thin matchsticks) then again horizontally into two-inch long pieces. Prep the chard in advance then store in a bowl under a damp towel in the fridge.

Croutons
I didn’t have any English muffins so I cut up two slices of wheat bread. Brush lightly with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and bake in the toaster oven at 375 for 15-20 minutes.

Dressing
Mix ingredients together, if you have them, if not substitute. I didn’t have white wine vinegar so I used a combo of lemon vinegar from F Olivers and Trader Joe’s Gourmet Orange Muscat Champagne Vinegar. I didn’t chop up the scallions as finely as I should have so I put the dressing into the mini food processor and blended it thoroughly. This helped to bring out the bright flavor of fresh scallions. Make this in advance, if possible, to allow the flavors time to set up.

sans dressing: I was still worried about the flavor and debating between adding a bottled dressing or the dressing from the recipe

The dressing is absolutely amazing. The sweetness of the cantaloupe balances the scallion dressing and the crunch of the chard.

Leave a Reply

