February Break: Thursday

On the fourth day of break my true love gave to me, a trip to radiology.

Some of you may already know that I have been spending a lot of time at Wilmot Cancer Center. For those of you who don’t know in October my best friend was diagnosed with lymphoma. It has been a journey that started with a week long hospital stay, moved into 6 treatments of chemotherapy, and is now ending with 17 radiation treatments. It is an aggressive treatment for an aggressive cancer.

The good news is that she is now in remission as of last week. Her lymphoma is completely gone. We looked at a clean PET scan last week side-by-side with her original CT scan. The tumor is completely gone thanks to the chemo. She still needs radiation and today she gets fitted for her “mask.” Her mask will hold her in the exact same position each time.

The mask is a little frightening but it is a reality. It will help the radiation go directly to the place where the tumor was and it will help to prevent the return of cancer. I think I might just start calling her Jason for fun. Update: Here is her lovely mint green mask.

photo 1

photo 2

I was hoping to stay and take embarrassing pictures of her but they kicked me out. I suppose this isn’t exactly creative or a fun project but its my break and I said I would do my best to document it. Maybe I will get to my quilt later?

Leave a Reply

