February Break: Tuesday

Have you ever heard that voice in the back of your head? It’s the one that says, “You can’t.” I have a secret for you. You can. One year ago I would have never believed that I could run a mile, much less three miles, much less three miles in 20 degree weather.

photo

After my run I had every ambition to work on my quilt however I got busy making dinner. I was cold and wanted to make some soup that I had seen on a blog last week. I roasted the garlic cloves after peeling them, which I think made it faster. I couldn’t find my food processor so I used my new food mill that I got for my bridal shower.

Here is the recipe (WARNING: I am not exact in my cooking!)

Handful of garlic cloves, peeled, with olive oil, in a foil packet
Bake for 30 minutes at 300 degrees

2-3 cups of white beans – blended, processed, or milled
You can use dried beans and cook them in the crockpot (without soaking them) for 3-4 hours on high or 5-6 hours on low. I made them this way last week for a different recipe and had enough left over for this recipe.

3-5 small colored potatoes – diced finely
1 shallot – diced finely
olive oil
throw all of this into a pan and sauté until potatoes are browned and cooked through

Stir the blended bean/garlic mixture into the potatoes
Add veggie or chicken stock – stir in as much as you would like based on preference

Leave a Reply

