ART 8 Intro to Drawing

My ART 8 students spent their class today concentrating in a way that I have not seen before. I explained and demonstrated the activity. Their assignment was the classic Picasso upside down drawing, see drawing on the right. I ask that students use pen or sharpie so that they don’t worry too much about erasing but rather moving along. Students start at the top (which is actually the bottom of the chair). I instruct them to focus on the lines only and not to worry about the “bigger picture.”

I stress the importance of failure (this is not an easy assignment), silence, and concentration. I set up a Pandora station of classical music and they were off and running drawing.

After the activity students shared that they felt very focused. I explained that numerous scientific studies have proven that classical music helps attention. Here is a video of the group in the middle of the activity.

Leave a Reply

