Art Quotes

Today I outlined a brief history of modern art for my sixth grade class. My students were getting excited about art history and how it will play a role in the upcoming ceramic shoe project. We were using the site Arty Factory, more specifically their Modern Art Timelines 1 and 2. We came across this Georges Braque painting titled, Violin and Pitcher, and briefly discussed Abstract Art.

I asked students to raise their hand quietly if they saw any objects in the painting. Paused. Looked around. Everyone’s hand was in the air. Students saw a cello, a violin, a person, a wall, a face. What do you see?

It’s like a big eye spy game!

exclaimed J.A. with excitement. This made my entire day. I love when students feel the same kind of energy that I do from looking at and talking about art.

One response to “Art Quotes

  1. Pingback: Graham Poses With My Paintings | Little Blue Nursery·

Leave a Reply

