How do you have time for that?

So often I hear other teachers say, “I wish I had more time for that”. What they are referring to is my connectedness to social media. I have spent the last three days using Canvas instructure to add syllabi and course information. It is incredibly time consuming work. I’m not even close to being finished. However I feel that doing the work now and preparing for the classes that I will have this year will save me time once the school year begins. I will have more time to spend with students. I will have more time to make my own artwork. I will have more time to collaborate with other teachers.

So for now I will continue struggling to find prior worksheets and project information using Google Docs, Edmodo, and WordPress. On top of this and updating my curriculum to reflect 21st-century skills. I also feel that teaching the same project year after year not only is boring for my students but it is also boring for me. I have also been using Pinterest, Evernote, and all of the disorganized chaos of the file folders that exist on my desktop. I am trying to pull together the ideas, photos, and inspiration that I have found throughout the year. It is proving to be much a more difficult task that I initially calculated.

I am beginning to understand what those teachers mean when they say, “I wish I had more time for that”. This kind of process, using a plethora of social media, is unbelievably time-consuming. But in that same breath I must say that it is also incredibly rewarding. The kinds of lessons that I want to teach my students do not just come easily. I’m sure there’s a quote somewhere that I could use about good things coming to those who wait. But it is not just about waiting it is about using every minute to the best of your ability. Next time you think to yourself, “I wish I had more time for that,” tell yourself, you do have time for that. Especially if it is something that you really want to do.

Take time to pursue those initiatives that you feel are most important in your classroom. Don’t brush them aside because you feel they will detract from what little time you have. You know all that time you spend watching TV? You could be using that. You know all those hours you spend wandering aimlessly through the grocery store? You could be using that too. Buckle down and schedule a time when you can work without distractions. Because we all know that being distracted is more a waste of time when you are pursuing new ideas for your class.

Disclaimer: I do not have children. I know they change everything including how much time you have to do the things that you want.
Disclaimer 2: I teach for six weeks over the summer. I teach kindergarten through ninth grade. I teach in a bilingual school for migrant children.
Disclaimer 3: I am getting married in three weeks. Wedding and curriculum planning are an odd combination

This post was written entirely on my iPad 3 by speaking through the new dictation feature.

5 responses to “How do you have time for that?

  1. I love this post! Completely understand, and I join you in your journey to constantly find ways to improve, enhance and investigate. I often wonder what it would be like if I had more time to invest in everything that the web has to offer, but the very fact that we do attempt to use what time we have is such an important step in heading toward the goals we constantly set for ourselves. I do have children, but there’s still time to improve upon our skills and to provide a rewarding experience in our classroom.
    Love, love, love it!

    • Thanks so much for your support. It’s a tough road but some of us HAVE to climb it! Thanks for journeying with me.

  2. Totally agree – also, I think it is something that cannot all happen at once. You do one thing a day or month or year and then build upon those things (and throw out the ones you don’t want to use).

Leave a Reply

