Sketchbook Dilema

I’m debating ordering different sketchbooks next year. I currently have these

They have held up well. I like the spiral at the top and the size (8″x10″). However, my students have lost them and have had a lot of trouble finding theirs in the bin. A colleague of mine recommended a bound sketchbook so they can write their names on the spine and keep them on a bookshelf. Which resulted in me looking at these options.

$6.40
Just the thing for those quick sketches and drawings, in the studio or in the field. This economical yet high-quality sketchbook contains 108 pages of acid-free, cream-colored 65 lb (98 gsm) paper with excellent tooth for all dry media techniques. The pages are bound in a durable heavyweight black textured cover for long-term protection of your drawings and sketches.

Or the possibility of ordering a set of Moleskines

$3.84 a piece
(11855-8332) Large Sketchbooks, Pkg of 3 Kraft - Blank, 80 Pages - 5" × 8½" $11.54

$3.95 a piece
Designed specifically for those who sketch in pen, this pad is well suited for detail work. Heavyweight natural white sketch paper accepts pencil, ballpoint, pen and ink, and pens such as Sakura Micron. This acid-free paper features a smooth surface and is available in 50 sheet spiral-bound pads. The 8½" × 11" size is bound on the long side in a portrait orientation. Sheets are 70 lb (114 gsm).

So what do you use? What has worked? Why has it worked? How do you store your sketchbooks?

2 responses to “Sketchbook Dilema

  1. I use the black hard bound sketchbooks you have at the top of your list. They have nice thick paper that holds up to a few watermedia layers. I have my students write their names on the sides of the paper rather than the spine. It is also fun, as a first art lesson, to have them paint the covers of their sketchbook, they will never lose them in the bin then! The down side to the binded sketchbook is that the kids can’t rip pages out. I think that is a great thing, it makes them keep all their drawings, but they rip them out anyways and the thread bindings rip and whole sections fall out.

    • Amy,

      Thanks so much for your feedback. Those are the style that I like most and I think I will just go with them. I like your idea about painting the covers. My students love doodling with sharpies and I think it might be interesting to have them paint the covers and then add details with sharpie on top of the paint.

      Do you have a blog too? I would love to follow it.

      Thanks again,
      Artwithmsb

Leave a Reply

